Chakra Balancing


The word chakras is a Sanskrit word meaning "wheel" or "disk" and denotes a Point of intersection where mind and body meet. Chakras are also called lotuses, symbolising the unfolding of petals, which metaphorically describe the opening of a chakra.

At the central column of the body there are 7 major chakras and many minor chakras most of which are located in the joints.

They have the ability to receive, assimilate and transmit energy. This life force energy Is called "Qi" or "prana", or universal intelligence. They are continuously spinning, like a vortex.


Stresses placed upon us by the demands of life can interfere with the energy flow of our Chakras, this can be related to emotional, physical and psychological trauma in the Present as well as past trauma.

A chakra imbalance can result in:

  • reduction in energy flow ( Qi).
  • a blocked or closed chakra.
  • physical and emotional pain in and around the chakra that is disturbed.
  • a chakra being out of alignment.
  • an over energised chakra.
  • a displaced chakra.

Balancing is focused on restoring a balanced flow where there is not enough, and regulating energy where there is to much, and aligning where there is distortion or displacement. This is done by using a series of different modalities, kinesiology, meridian therapy, myofascial release, colour therapy and reiki, depending on the clients needs.